My journey of learning Sanskrit

…so a few weeks back I took a different approach to learning the language. Learn the language through the reading of a text. Geeta is a treasure trove of spiritual learning and I combined my interest of reading the Geeta in original with that of learning Sanskrit. 

This blog is all about that journey. Hopefully, with the blessings of friends and well wishers, this time I will be able to conclude the journey.

Let me be honest about my fascination with Sanskrit. When the opportunity of learning Sanskrit was available at school, I have to admit I had no interest whatsoever then – and as is expected of any student of that age group – I learnt it in the worst possible fashion. Back-bencher, constant giggling and general disinterest in all that was taught in the class. Students are merciless when they are not interested and I still feel bad for the trouble we gave our Sanskrit teacher back then.

However later, the sheer harmony in the syntax of the language coupled with my interest in spiritual matters and the wealth of information available on this subject in Sanskrit – which is only available to me now in contrived translations – has repeatedly inspired me to start learning this language in all earnest.

post

And as is expected with all endeavours started in adult life, my efforts have almost always been more of non starters. My understanding of Sanskrit grammar is still quite rudimentary. And the fatigue of learning various shabd and dhatu roop at this stage in life always made this look like some distant unattainable goal.

So a few weeks back I took a different approach to learning the language. Learn the language through the reading of a text. Geeta is a treasure trove of spiritual learning and I combined my interest of reading the Geeta in original with that of learning Sanskrit.

This blog is all about that journey. Hopefully, with the blessings of friends and well wishers, this time I will be able to conclude the journey.  I invite you to my blog and if you happen to be a Sanskrit scholar, do offer your valuable inputs and correct the errors that may creep in through my incomplete understanding of the language. Lastly I have to acknowledge the help rendered by my dear father without whose able guidance I would not have been able understand the language at all.

 

Author: Yogi

Entrepreneur, running my own company Technoforte ( www.technoforte.co.in ) for the last 17 years. Certified trainer for Heartfulness Meditation ( www.heartfulness.org ) . Trying to learn Sanskrit, for many years without much success. This is one more attempt!

4 thoughts on “My journey of learning Sanskrit”

  1. Interesting journey! It is a great idea to learn Sanskrit through the Bhagwadgeeta. In fact, Samskrita Bharati has a course called Geeta Sopanam that teaches Sanskrit through Bhagwadgeeta – they have regular classes with exams etc. Maybe you are already aware, if not you can check it out – they are very active in Bangalore 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment